2017 Technician and Instructor of the Year Awards


Thank you to everyone that submitted a nomination for the 2017 CPS Technician & Instructor of the Year Awards!

The nomination period is now closed. Awards will be presented at the national Lifesavers conference in March 2017.



The National Child Passenger Safety Board thanks the National CPS Certification program and Kidz In Motion for their support!

This year we used a NEW, streamlined process to self-apply for or nominate that outstanding CPS Technician or Instructor you know and / or work with!

The NCPSB encouraged CPS Technicians and Instructors to self-submit or help with the online application. We have found that being able to share specifics makes for a stronger application.

The National Child Passenger Safety Board accepted submissions in recognition of outstanding CPS contributions by Technicians and Instructors during the 12 month period of September 2015 – September 2016. This is the annual national award program sponsored by The National Child Passenger Safety Board to honor the men and women who dedicate their time and skills to ensure our nation’s children and their families are transported safely in car seats, boosters and in safety belts. Their efforts actively reduce the number of motor vehicle deaths and injuries among children in our country. Each winner will be awarded $500, courtesy of AAA.

Submissions were accepted for the following categories:

1) Child Passenger Safety Technician of the Year:

This individual must be a currently certified CPS Technician who shows extraordinary dedication to and support of Child Passenger Safety programs and activities during the last 12 months. This individual should enthusiastically support their local, state and/or national level CPS program(s) including car seat check-up events, educational programs, etc. This individual should successfully educate caregivers on how to transport their child(ren) safely based on NHTSA’s best practices in a positive and patient manner.

2) Child Passenger Safety Technician Instructor of the Year:

This individual must be a currently certified CPS Technician Instructor. The individual must show extraordinary dedication to Child Passenger Safety programs in their local community, state or national activities during the last 12 months. The ideal nominee is active and current on new and emerging technologies and information. He or she should contribute and demonstrate dedication to the continuation and expansion of the National Child Passenger Safety certification program by their participation in CPS activities. The individual should have exemplary teaching skills and serve as a resource to students and CPST’s in their area.

2017 Awards Submission deadline:

5:00 PM PST, November 18, 2016. Late applications will NOT be accepted or considered.


Anyone, including current and past National CPS Board members, may nominate a Technician or Instructor. Current National CPS Board members cannot be nominated or apply for either award. All candidates must be currently certified CPS Technicians or Instructors during the full review period. Individuals are only eligible for their national Certification level, either Certified Technician or Certified Instructor. Should any candidate be nominated in an incorrect category, the application will be corrected automatically.


PLEASE NOTE THAT SUBMISSIONS ARE ONLY VALID USING THIS FORMAT. Be detailed in your description of the candidate’s activities. Avoid using last names, titles and organization names in the narrative. Nominators are encouraged to contact the candidate to provide complete, detailed information about their activities during the past year.

Notification of results:

The winners must agree to have their name and picture publicized. Winners will be notified in January 2017 and will be announced and recognized at the 2017 Lifesavers Conference. All winners, nominators and candidates will be recognized on the CPS Board website and in the CPS Express following the announcement of the winners.

Award Winners and Nominees – 2016


award-winner-1The CPS Instructor of the Year:
Mark Van Horn

Chadron, Neb.

The National Child Passenger Safety Board is pleased to announce the 2016 Instructor of the Year is Mark Van Horn, a retired state trooper from Chadron, Neb., who was nominated by Jeanne Bietz. The NCPSB recognizes one exemplary instructor for his or her work and dedication to this field annually. Trooper Van Horn was one of the nation’s first CPS Technicians and Instructors, certified in Lake Charles, La., in July of 1997. He was mentored by NHTSA’s Sherri Cannon and completed the instructor certification course in September 1998, in Lawrence, Kan. During his career, Van Horn has demonstrated the critical use of occupant protection systems and also the life or death consequences. He is a recipient of Nebraska’s Saved by the Belt recognition following a multiple roll-over crash he endured while on patrol one afternoon during a high-speed pursuit.

Additional details about Mark and his dedication to child passenger safety can be found in the Instructor of the Year press release

award-winner-1The CPS Technician of the Year:
Patricia Corwin

Columbus, Ohio

The National Child Passenger Safety Board is pleased to announce the 2016 Technician of the Year is Patricia Corwin from Columbus, Ohio, who was nominated by John Bolte. The NCPSB annually recognizes an exemplary technician for his or her work and dedication to this field. Corwin is the Operations Manager at Ohio State University’s Wexner Medical Center and also Program Coordinator for The Center for Child Injury Prevention Studies (CChIPS), a National Science Foundation Industry and University Cooperative Research Center. CChIPS brings together researchers from the Injury Biomechanics Research Center at The Ohio State University, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, and the University of Pennsylvania. Corwin researches methods to advance the safety of children, youth and young adults by facilitating the conduct of scientific inquiry into the causes and mechanisms of injury. The findings are applied through the creation of public education programs for prevention and include creation of the CPS program at Wexner Medical Center.

Additional details about Patricia and her dedication to child passenger safety can be found in the Technician of the Year press release


Congratulations to all of the nominees for the 2016 Child Passenger Safety Instructor and Technician of the Year Awards!

2016 CPS Award Nominees

Thank you to everyone that submitted nominations for the 2017 CPS Tech & Instructor of the Year Awards! Winners will be announced at the national Lifesavers conference in March 2017.